3 Lives in 3 Hours

15 Mar

Hello my lovelies!

Today I got up at 8am, worked out for 20 minutes, showered, drank some tea, read one and a half chapters from my scriptures (I usually read 2 but I couldn’t focus, this is part of being baptised. It’s an ongoing thing) and went to my painting 4 class. I am so glad it was a proposal day and that my proposal for our final project went well. i don’t think i could have gotten much more done with my mind still in a horrible fog from the loss of my precious kitty :’C

But it was an interesting day none the less and very inspiring. I learned allot about our inner desires and the conflicts we face as individuals. The bits of life that make us who we are in our own minds and the things we don’t share with others or, in some cases the things that we don’t know how to properly share with others. I may do a painting on this in the summer if I remember.

Anyways, let’s get to it! The next and final thing I completed on the list thus far

Donating Blood

First off I should let you know exactly why donating blood is on the list.

I could tell you that it was because of my mother, who was sick all my life and relied heavily on the generosity of donors.

Buuuuuut that would be a lie. Honestly, a large part of me starting the bucketlist at all was because i was tired of saying “if I had the time” or “that’s a great idea” and doing nothing after the fact. I really did think donating blood was a good idea, yet i never did anything about it before. That to me, is stupid and hypocritical and it needed to change.

So I made an appointment. I t was really easy 🙂 you have the choice of either calling in, or filling out some information online and it all only took a few minutes on http://www.blood.ca/

They even give you the option of receiving either an email reminder or phone call before your appointment and there are maps and locations in your area listed on the website for you to choose from. Very very helpful 🙂 Heres what my confirmation looked like:

So I wrote it on my calendar and waited and did my best to get a group of friends to go with me. Which is always a good idea if you are getting blood taken, you don’t want to have to drive (or in my case, bus) yourself home just incase you react badly in some way.

Unfortunately when the day finally came, only one of my bff’s could make it. But it was awesome and fun none the less. Looking back, it was an awesome and special thing we got to do together 🙂 and i am glad she came along for support.

After we entered the building a woman signed me in (made sure i had the appointment etc), gave me a number and some information to read on what to do in case you felt sick etc. Then had me sit in a chair where I waited for about an hour. My friend kept me preoccupied with internet jokes and kittens. Then when they finally called me (and this was the worst part) they took my information, typed it into the computer…AND PRICKED MY FINGER. You wouldn’t think this was the worst part now would you? Well IT WAS. THAT THING THROBBED FOR DAYS. (this is also where they gave me my “First time” Sticker. EPIC.)

I know they did it to test my iron levels (can’t give if you have low iron) but DAMN. Really. It HURT.

Once that was done and i got the good to go for Iron levels. The nice lady gave me a questionnaire to fill out and a name card. My friend and I then went over to a private desk and I had to go down a list of health questions…one of which was amazingly about whether or not i have been in contact with monkeys. Once you fill out that form you take your card, place it in a box and sit down until your card gets pulled (they are all in order, don’t worry, no budging)

It FELT like this section of waiting took the longest…as we were moving closer and closer to the stations where they draw blood….well, that is until i noticed the tables that came after that…which were full of delicious cookies and juice…but more importantly…cookies.

After another hour of waiting (it was pretty busy there) I was called into a private little cubicle where they take your questionnaire and ask you even more questions…mostly about mexico and STD’s (YEAH VIRGIN PRIDE).

By the time i got done with that, there was no one in any of the blood drawing section (lucky me), so i got to choose which arm i wanted them to take from 😀 (which is awesome when you’re a right-handed artist with school the next day. So i chose left)
They stuck me like a pin cushion, had me squeeze this little ball (I refused to look) while my friend and I talked about boys and Nikki Minaj and other stuff.

Whalaa! Ten minutes later I was done and being carefully led to the cookie table where a nurse FORCED me to eat more cookies than i have eaten in years (due to my glucose intolerance, but I didn’t argue 😉 HAHA). I got a lovely pin for my good deed and I cherish it very much!

Before we left they thanked me for saving the lives of three people with my donation *insert warm fuzzy emote of happy here*

I am SOOOOO proud I did it and honestly can’t wait the alloted period to do it again!!! Hopefully with more people doing it with me 🙂

My plan HAD been to write about this topic  yesterday but was unable to do so due to my circumstances….However, it is a good thing I didn’t! Ironically right after I had pushed the “Publish” button over in the side bar for my last entry I got a call from the blood bank. Honestly, when I saw the number on my caller I.D. it freaked me out, I assumed that you only got the call if they found something wrong with your blood. Apparently not. I got some amazing news that they could not wait to share with me 🙂 I AM A RARE BLOOD TYPE. I am so excited that I have the chance to save more lives, pretty much anyone with a + blood type can benefit from my own. This does mean that if i ever need a transfusion or anything that I am pretty much screwed because i am only compatible with “O+ and O” blood but, kay sera sera. As long as I can help someone else, I am thrilled, no matter what. YAYZ.

Tomarrow, I will talk and explain my “on-going” Bucketlist projects and hopefully if you all like them, I will draw some more cartoons 🙂

Love Peace Chicken Grease

TheHappyLittleArtist

7 Responses to “3 Lives in 3 Hours”

  1. fruitloopowl March 15, 2012 at 10:30 pm #

    what a wonderful thing to accomplish. I to, find myself approving of good behavior and doing nothing about it myself. Now maybe I will give donating a try 🙂

    • thehappylittleartist March 15, 2012 at 10:31 pm #

      thanks. 🙂 you absolutely should! It never hurts to boost your Karma….or ya know…be forced to pig out on Oreos 😉

  2. mymatejoechip March 16, 2012 at 10:54 pm #

    good on you

  3. Seo Pressor April 7, 2012 at 2:56 pm #

    After reading your blog post I browsed your website a bit and noticed you aren’t ranking nearly as well in Google as you could be. I possess a handful of blogs myself and I think you should take a look here: http://seopressors.org You’ll find it’s a very nice tool that can bring you a lot more visitors. Keep up the quality posts

  4. bookworm593 May 4, 2012 at 6:29 pm #

    *nod* I am pretty sure I warned you the first finger prick hurts the worst!

    • thehappylittleartist May 4, 2012 at 7:12 pm #

      iTS HORRIBLE >:C
      i told them that it was the worst part the second time i went and they AGREED with me. LOLZ

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Flash, Flash, Flash Goes The Camera. Document ALL THE THINGS « adoablebucketlist - March 16, 2012

    […] Categories Uncategorized ← 3 Lives in 3 Hours […]

Leave a Reply

